Family and Friends First

Today’s going to be a rough day for my family and I.

Two years ago today my mom passed away suddenly. Not a day goes by that she’s not in the back of my head. I can still hear her voice, her laugh and can still see her smile. But  wouldn’t be this way if it wasn’t for my family and friends.

My two brothers are amazing when it comes to making sure everyone is smiling on days like these. Me being the only girl, obviously I’m the more emotional one, in any situation, so they know how to handle me. Making sure we’re not moping around, but instead talking about all of the memories we shared with her and smiling and laughing throughout the whole day. I couldn’t have been blessed with better brothers.

Now all of my friends who have stuck by my side through thick and thin. Don’t worry, I’m very thankful and blessed to have you all in my life too. You see my breakdowns, you cheer me up when I can’t get that shitty day out of my head, you are all by my side no matter what. Most of you are just a phone call away while others are at school with me, but that doesn’t make a difference to me. You have all showed me how much you care and I could not be more appreciative of that. If it’s as simple as texting me to see how I’m doing if you’re away at school too or if it’s coming and sitting on my bed just to have a conversation with the end result of making me smile, you are all some of the best people I have in my lives.

These are the days nobody wants to encounter, but when you have an amazing family and wonderful friend group who you get to call your second family, the day goes by with smiles and memories of you mom. These days are the hard ones. Theses days are the unbearable. Theses days are the ones you surround yourself with family and friends. These days turn out to be okay.

Leave a Reply

